You can get a fast Pennsylvania “separation” divorce in about 45 to 60 days. This type of no-fault PA divorce is only for those individuals who have been separated for more than 1 (one) year and where both parties are going to sign all required documents to speed things up. You can still be living together but separated. This type of divorce is much faster than a mutual consent divorce which takes about 5 to 6 months. You or your spouse must live in Pennsylvania (or have lived in PA within the last six months.) Our fee includes all court costs. You get a full service Pennsylvania separation divorce. This is not a kit or a do-it-yourself package. We do all the paperwork. Your PA divorce will be done by a Pennsylvania lawyer. You will be able to consult with your lawyer throughout the process.
HOW THE SEPARATION DIVORCE WORKS.
STEP ONE:The fastest way to get your PA divorce started is to print out the DIVORCE INFORMATION WORKSHEET AND VERIFICATION from your choice of formats below.
STEP TWO: As soon as we get your Worksheet, verification and fee, an attorney will contact you to confirm all the information you mailed us and answer any questions you may have. You should be prepared for this consultation by having all your questions written down.
STEP THREE: The PA divorce will then be filed. Your spouse will receive a copy of the Divorce Complaint by certified mail or by alternative personal service. If certified mail is used, your spouse must pick up this certified mail for the Pennsylvania divorce process to continue.** You will receive your copy of the Complaint by email.
STEP FOUR: By law, we have to wait 20 days from the date your spouse received the complaint before we can then send him or her a Counter-Affidavit and a Notice of Intend and Waiver of Notice forms. These documents will be mailed to them by regular mail.
STEP FIVE: Your spouse would then need to sign only the “Waiver of Notice” form and return it to my office. As soon as I get that form, I can then submit to the court all of the documents required by law requesting the divorce to be granted. Once the divorce is granted, you will get a certified copy of the Divorce Decree issued by the court.
If applicable, a name change back to a maiden or previous name can be done for an addition fee. A more detailed explanation of the divorce process is available by clicking here.
ONE FINAL NOTE: It is still possible to get a divorce in Pennsylvania without the cooperation of your spouse. However, there was a change in the law in May 2008. Now in order to get a divorce without your spouse cooperating, you need to file the divorce in your or your spouse’s county of residence. If you think you might need to do this, please call my office to speak to me to discuss the possibility of doing such a divorce.
* Additional fees would only apply if there is a problem with serving your spouse with the complaint, if your spouse does not sign the required documents or if your spouse fights the divorce in any way.